Glenafton 0 Pollok 2

Sat 14 Jan 2022 KO 1:30pm Loch Park, New Cumnock
PDM Buildbase WOSFL Premier LeagueMatch 14
Glenafton Athletic 0 (0)
Pollok 2 (1)Christie, Duff

Glenafton made two changes to the side that started against Kilbirnie with new signing Scott McLean making his debut and Sean McKenzie (returning from suspension) replacing captain Craig Pettigrew (injury) and Adam Caldwell. On the bench was local lad Matthew Hoffin alongside fellow Glenafton U17 / Glenafton Athletic dual contract team-mate Calum McFadyen.

In the Pollok starting eleven was Glenafton’s treble-winning captain and ‘Hall of Famer’, Craig Menzies, always welcome at Loch Park.

Pollok took the lead on 14 minutes after Shaun Fraser slipped a ball down the left for Darren Christie to gather and cut inside where from the edge of the box he clipped a ball to the far post which was missed by attackers, defenders and keeper alike, before bouncing into the corner of the net. Although the visitors enjoyed the best of the few remaining chances on show there was to be no further scoring before the break.  

HT Glens 0 Pollok 1

Chances remained thin on the ground and Glens suffered a set-back just before the hour mark after captain Jamie McKernon was ordered off on receipt of a second yellow card. The visitors took full advantage of the extra man and pressed for a second with Christie coming close after his low angled shot sneaked inches wide of the back post.

On 81 minutes Pollok doubled their lead after a free kick was floated into a busy box and knocked on by Calum Gow high into the six yard box where Chris Duff leapt to send a glancing header beyond the outstretched hand of keeper David Markey. The home-side claims that the ‘Lok man had come from an offside position to win the ball were waved away. In the closing minutes Christie burst into the Glens box and was denied his brace by the outrushing Markey blocking his shot.

FT Glens 0 Pollok 2

1. David Markey 3. Scott McLean 20. Dean Currie 5. Michael McMullin 11. Leon Murphy 10. Calvin Kemp (17. Dylan O’Kane) 6. Jamie McKernon (capt.) 8. Paul Paton 7. Sam McKee 9. Hugh Kerr (15. Ryan Nisbet) 11. Sean McKenzie Subs: Adam Caldwell, Cameron McKenzie, Callum McFadyen, Mathew Hoffin
1. Jordan Longmuir 2. Craig Menzies 3. Mark Sideserf  (17. Sean Burns) 4. David Brownlie 5. Calum Gow 6. Derek Esplin 7. Darren Christie (16. Robbie Buchanan) 8. Shaun Fraser (18. Gary McCann) 9. Stuart McCann (15. Adam Forde) 10. Johnny Lyon (12. Stephen Docherty) 11. Chris Duff Subs 14. Kamil Krol 21. Josh Lumsden
This entry was posted in GAFC Match Report and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.