Glenafton 0 Rutherglen 2

PDM Buildbase WOSFL | Match 3109/04/2022
KO 2:00 pm
Loch Park, New Cumnock
Glenafton Athletic0 (0)
Rutherglen Glencairn2 (1)Mitchell, Pearson

Glenafton made one change to the 11 that started against Beith last week with striker Calvin Kemp making his Glens debut coming in for the unavailable Hugh Kerr. Meanwhile on the bench for Rutherglen was former Afton striker Kit Cummins.

Glenafton’s unbeaten run of 4 wins and 1 draw came to an end through two second half goals from Rutherglen.

There were few chances in the first half the best of which fell to the visitors when Ross Fisher’s header from a Leon Murphy corner-kick whizzed inches wide of the post.

The visitors broke the deadlock two minutes after the restart. Although their strong appeals for a spot kick after Sean Bennie’s tackle on the left hand-side of the penalty box were waved away the free-kick that ensued was squared into the box where Harry Mitchell clipped a low shot towards goal and despite it lacking the power to bother David Markey a deflection off Ross Fisher put the ball the keeper’s reach and into the net.

The home side came with a whisker of drawing level after free-kick was floated into the goal mouth only to be cleared to the outskirts of the box where it was gathered by David Blyth and after giving a defender the slip cracked a left-footed shot that bounced off the base of the post.

Glencairn passed up a good chance when a good cross into the box ended with a close-range header flying high over the ball and soon after defensive header was sent flying high into the air ad was met on drop by Calvin Kemp only for his shot from 18 yards to dip over the bar.

On 75 minutes Glencairn double their lead. A great cross from tight on the right wing to the far post was headed back into the six yard box where substitute Reece Pearson coolly headed home

The remaining half-chances for both sides came and went as Rutherglen ran out 2-0 winners.

FT Glenafton 0 Rutherglen 2

1. David Markey; 2. Sean Bennie  (14. Darren Curtis) 5. Ross Fisher 4. Craig Pettigrew 3. Alan Cairns; 7. David Blyth (12. Ryan Nisbet) 6. Ollie Rowe 8. Mark Gilmour (16. Aaron Miller) 11. Leon Murphy; 9. Calvin Kemp 10. Sam McKee. Subs Not Used: 17. Calum Thomson,  James Hart (gk).
Matt McGinley; Callum Shields, Scott Schoneville, Craig Leitch, Mick O’Byrne, Tam Miller (Connor Neilson), Tommy Lone, Darren Burns (Reece Pearson), Jack McIlveen, Sean McGuire, Harry Mitchell Subs. Imrie, Swan, Craig Murray, Kit Cummins, Fraser Malcolm, Scott McLellan (gk)
This entry was posted in GAFC Match Report and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.