Pollok 1 Glenafton 3

  • McBookie West Region Super League Premier Division
  • Match 11
  • Newlandsfield Park, Glasgow
  • Saturday 24th February 2018
  • POLLOK 1 (1)
    • Gallacher

    • McCann, Dallas 2

Glenafton came from behind to beat Pollok 3-1 at Newlandsfield and move up to 6th place in the league.  The home side took the lead on 17 minutes after Brian McGarrity got down low to parry away  Adam Forde’s thundering free-kick from 30 yards and Stefan McCluskey pounced on the loose ball to play it back into the six yard box for Paul Gallacher to guide home from close range.

Glenafton Athletic squad (5)

Mick McCann

Glens drew level on 65 minutes after Conor Lynas from almost the right hand side corner flag whipped a glorious ball to the far end of the penalty box for substitute Mick McCann (right) to bullet a sweet header beyond the outstretched arms of keeper Jordan Longmuir.

Glenafton Athletic squad (10)

Chris Dallas

Six minutes later the visitors took the lead after Jamie McKernon floated a free-kick into the box and Kyle McAusland’s jump was impeded by Gallacher. Up stepped Chris Dallas (right) to slam home the spot kick. The former Arthurlie striker would also have the last say on 90 minutes. Joe Andrew forced the defender to paint themselves into a corner before opting to square the ball to Longmuir who had advanced to edge of his six yard box only to let the ball run past him and then see his attempted clearance crash off the shins of the inrushing Dallas for the ball to end in the net. New Cumnock cheers now echoed round Newlandsfield with the Glens enjoying back-to-back league wins.

Glenafton Athletic: 1. Brian McGarrity 2. Kyle McAusland 3.Alan Cairns 4 . Craig Menzies 5. Ryan McChesney 6. Cameron Marlow 7. Conor Lynass 8. Jamie McKernon 9. Chris Dallas 10. Joe Andrew 11. Darren McGill Subs Used: 12. Mick McCann 14. Dale Moore 15. Ryan Boriss   Not used. 16. Craig Potter 17. Scott Watson (gk)

Pollok: 1. Jordan Longmuir 2. Mouhamed ‘Sena’ Niang 3 Mark Sideserf 4. Paul Gallacher   5. Ryan McGregor 6. Paul Byrne 7.Stuart McCann 8. Nicky Little 9. Adam Forde 10. Stefan McLuskey 11. Bryan Young. Subs used 12. Liam Rowan 14. Derek Hepburn 15. David Gormley  Not Used: 16.Bryan Wharton 17. Scott Johnson





This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.